The town of Lovech is located on the borderline between the Danube Plain and the northern foothills of the Balkan and it covers the river terraces of the Osam river. The town is surrounded by a 250 m high plateau, with almost vertical slope toward the East industrial zone. The plateau hill and the slopes are occupied by a forest park Stratesh, the South -west part of which is known under the name of "Varosha". Along its steep slopes the architectural and historical Reserve of the same name is situated, nestled between the hills of Hisarya and Bash Bunar. This is the most beautiful and picturesque part of the town.
Lovech is one of the oldest towns in Bulgaria. Its territory and surroundings have been inhabited ever since the remote past, a prerequisite for which is the favourable geographic situation between the mountain and the plain. Remains of the Old Stone Age, the New Stone Age, the Bronze and the Iron epoch have been found in the caves Tabashka and Vasil Levski in the town of Lovech. There is a great number of evidences for the life of the first citizens of Lovech – The Thracians, during ²V–²²² century BC. The ancient town has been built up on the ruins of the Thracian town Melta, which has probably been the capital of the Thracian tribe meldi and has played the role of an exchange road station between the Thracian tribes, that inhabited the today Romania, the Maritza valley and the Rhodopes. Later when the Romans colonize the Balkan peninsula, they establish a Roman station and name it Prezidium. It has a huge strategic importance along of the biggest Roman roads - “Via Trayana”, which connects the White sea with the Danube river. Even nowadays the citizens of Lovech and the visitors of the town can have a walk along the old Roman route “Varosh”, along which Roman soldiers used to pass.
The museum activity in the town of Lovech leads its beginning from 28 of February 1895. Then in Lovech cultural club “Nauka” a museum collection of 570 exponents is opened - a donation from the citizens. In 1969 the “Varosha” residential area was pronounced an architectural and historic reserve. With its peculiar architecture from the Revival epoch it is a preferred place for recreation by the citizens and the visitors of the town.
Another landmark in the town of Lovech is the Monument of Vasil Levski. The 14-meter-high monument was erected on 27 May 1965 in the “Varosha” residential area, next to the Hissarya fortress. If you visit Lovech you should not miss to see the Museum Vasil Levski established on 19th February 1954. A backbone of the exposition is the richest in the country collection of Levski’s personal belongings - fake Turkish stamps, receipts, a sword, a dagger and an original portrait from 1870.
You can also visit the Ethnographic complex and see the following expositions:
Exposition “Drasova house”. Established in 1973. It presents the lifestyle of a rich commercial family from the end of ХІХ - the beginning of ХХ century. The West-European influence is represented.
Exposition “Rashova house”. Established in 1983. It presents the organization of a house of an intelligent person from the town of Lovech from the 30s and the 40s of ХХ century.
Another landmark in the town of Lovech is the Museum building and art gallery in the “Varosha” residential area. The building is located in the old part of the town of Lovech – in the architectural and historic reserve “Varosha” residential area. The residential area is in close proximity to the center of the town, which is on the other side of Osam river, connected with a monumental pedestrian bridge.