ETOA, IATA, ABBTA, RDA
English
Travel exhibitions in Europe - Profi Tours
Special interest tours
Transfers
Flights
Rent-a-Car

Reviews & comments on Arena di Serdika boutique hotel in Sofia

Hotel info Book now All reviews

Write your comments on Arena di Serdika boutique hotel in Sofia

Post a review

Name: 
Country
(optional): 
E-mail
(optional): 
Publish my e-mail
Comments:   
 Please type this word.
Please enter security word from the image :
Click on the stars to rate the hotel (optional):
poor good
Overall: 
Staff: 
Rooms: 
Food: 
Fun: 
 

Michael Hill

Review

from New York state, 13 November 2009, 02:53


Rating
5 5 5 5 5 Overall
5 5 5 5 5 Staff
4 4 4 4 Rooms
5 5 5 5 5 Food
5 5 5 5 5 Fun
Comment: Enthusastically recommended, business or leisure. I used most of the hotel facilities during my time there. The restaurant made Bulgarian cuisine approachable and food was thoughtfully prepared. Fitness facility very good.
Excellent staff, genuinely hospitable with polished service skills. The location provides an excellent base for walking around many historical sites in Sofia. And incorporating a Roman ampitheatre within the lobby atrium is architecturally impressive.
Fitness facility very good. Some rooms offer a fine view over a park, distinctive Orthodox church spires, and the National Gallery of Art.

Paul Simpson

Review

from London UK, 10 November 2009, 05:14


Rating
5 5 5 5 5 Overall
5 5 5 5 5 Staff
5 5 5 5 5 Rooms
5 5 5 5 5 Food
4 4 4 4 Fun
Comment: Fully endorse other reports on this hotel, my wife and I stayed 3 nights over a weekend and found everything to a high standard , from food to service.
Wouldnt hesitate to stay here again, particularly if we can repeat the price of £70 per night to include breakfast.

Glen Haddaway

Review

from Dublin, Irelnad, 30 October 2009, 01:40


Rating
5 5 5 5 5 Overall
4 4 4 4 Staff
4 4 4 4 Rooms
5 5 5 5 5 Food
5 5 5 5 5 Fun
Comment: Stayed here for 3 nights with some friends for my first trip to Sofia. The ruins in the lobby basement are a strange sight at first, but have been very well preserved and integrated into the building. The hotel doesn't look much from the outside, but the bedrooms are large, modern and well equipped with fantastic large bathroom and nice L'Occitaine products. The free wifi is excellent.
Breakfast was standard European mix of cold and hot buffet options, almost fantastic. The staff were friendly and helpful and the location is very good, close to the main square and within easy reach of most of the tourist spots.

Mr Clibil

Review

from Yorkshire UK, 10 October 2009, 19:35


Rating
5 5 5 5 5 Overall
5 5 5 5 5 Staff
4 4 4 4 Rooms
5 5 5 5 5 Food
5 5 5 5 5 Fun
Comment: We used the hotel to organise an international training course and the hotel could not have been more helpful. We included an assessment of the hotel on the course feedback forms and these were universally positive.
My room was in fact a suite, and was perhaps the best hotel room I have ever stayed in.
The room was air-conditioned and had a massive plasma TV with more channels than one could cope with, including English. There was also a combination safe - always welcome.
If coming from the airport, you are recommended to let them arrange a car for you - travel tips about Sofia warn about taxi scams, so the hotel can get you an assured ride.
Special mention to all the staff, who were universally friendly and helpful. They were very patient with me when I made complicated requests. There is also good wifi in the hotel.
The conference room we used (there are quite a few) even contains a translators' booth !

Nick Morgan

Review

from London UK, 03 October 2009, 22:21


Rating
5 5 5 5 5 Overall
5 5 5 5 5 Staff
5 5 5 5 5 Rooms
5 5 5 5 5 Food
5 5 5 5 5 Fun
Comment: My first trip to Sofia and even though time was short and meetings were long, the hotel was a very welcome refuge. The facilities were excellent, the staff charming and the rooms clean and well equipped. With many hotels looking very similar, it was a welcome change to see the open plan reception atrium looking down onto a significant part of the city’s history.
The location is ideal if you leave via the steps at the rear of the building for visiting one of the city’s livelier squares and there are plenty of good restaurants an easy walk away. Overall I would definitely choose to stay here again.

Adam Greyrock

Review

from Berlin, Germany, 17 September 2009, 05:12


Rating
5 5 5 5 5 Overall
5 5 5 5 5 Staff
5 5 5 5 5 Rooms
5 5 5 5 5 Food
5 5 5 5 5 Fun
Comment: Moved from the Kempinski in Sofia to the Arena di Serdica hotel. Small number of rooms. Excellent value, perfect service (managed to get a french-speaking driver for a rather complicated & lengthy crosscountry trip for EUR 75). Located in the middle of Sofia, but in a quiet side street. The spa is small but beautiful. Rooms very large.

Roy

Review

from Brussels, 02 September 2009, 10:28 (submitted from BULGARIA)


Rating
4 4 4 4 Overall
4 4 4 4 Staff
4 4 4 4 Rooms
3 3 3 Food
3 3 3 Fun
Comment: Free internet in the room; reception staff; clean, pleasant room; good-size bathroom and shower

Breakfast selection was poor for such a hotel; walls too thin - I was constantly kept awake by neighbours on both sides either watching TV or showing/using the toilet. No paper handkerchieves supplied

Paollo

Review

from Italy, 09 July 2009, 10:15 (submitted from BULGARIA)


Rating
5 5 5 5 5 Overall
5 5 5 5 5 Staff
4 4 4 4 Rooms
5 5 5 5 5 Food
3 3 3 Fun
Comment: Unfortunately I stayed only for one night. It is a boutique hotel in the centre of Sofia, near St. Sophia Church. Very good place to start for a walking tour in the centre of the city. All the staff is very friendly and helpulf, they allow also lake check out whitout any charge extra. Definitely I will come back.

Mihail

Review

from Russia, 08 June 2009, 10:22 (submitted from BULGARIA)


Rating
5 5 5 5 5 Overall
5 5 5 5 5 Staff
5 5 5 5 5 Rooms
4 4 4 4 Food
3 3 3 Fun
Comment: accomodation was perfect. there was some strange interpretations of classsic dishes in the restaurant menu. but mostly everything was perfect, If i would trip to sofia there wil be no dought i'll choose this hotel again

Wiederer

Review

from Germany, 06 May 2009, 23:11 (submitted from BULGARIA)


Rating
5 5 5 5 5 Overall
5 5 5 5 5 Staff
5 5 5 5 5 Rooms
4 4 4 4 Food
4 4 4 4 Fun
Comment: Last month I had a business trip in Sofia and being so many times in Radisson SaS Grand Hotel decided to change my \"den\"! Wow Radisson SaS was really some kind of \"den\" for me beacuse I have been in this hotel more than 30 times. However, this brand new very cute small hotel made to feel like in home. All of the people working there were smiling and smiling and ... smiling always helping me and my business collegues. Typical breakfast for Eastern Europe. I had it on the last floor. There was an unforgetable view to the city center.
Next time in Sofia ... for sure - Arena di Serdica. I will be back for sure.

John Conway

Review

from USA, 18 April 2009, 11:25


Rating
5 5 5 5 5 Overall
5 5 5 5 5 Staff
5 5 5 5 5 Rooms
5 5 5 5 5 Food
5 5 5 5 5 Fun
Comment: I stayed twice in 12 days in this hotel - the first time by myself, the second - with a client. In both occasions the hotel was great for relax, for business meetings (walking distance from all major business HQ of banks, institutions, etc.) and for visiting the capital of Bulgaria. Few steps from the Alexander Nevsky Cathedral, the National Museum of Archeology, Sofia University, the Bulgarian Academy of Science and St. Sophia Church.
The ruins of the Roman Amphitheater make you feel living in a luxurious museum, with the difference that you can drink your coffee sitting on a 2000 years seat or wall.
Great, real kitchen room service 24/7, super nice personnel and great food on the top floor panoramic restaurant.


George

Review

from USA, 10 March 2009, 03:25 (submitted from BULGARIA)


Rating
4 4 4 4 Overall
4 4 4 4 Staff
4 4 4 4 Rooms
4 4 4 4 Food
4 4 4 4 Fun
Comment: Location - in the center of town. The ruins inside made the hotel special. The staff was helpful - however some of them were still not fluent in English. The hotel was reasonably priced during my first visit may 2 to 5th - 2009. The rooms were spacious. Overall, it was a good experience - I would stay there again if the price is right. I paid $133 per night.

5 Star Hotel should have a doorman opening the door not smoking a cigaratte and watching you open the door from a distance. Some of decor is kind of tacky from a designer's point of view. The window treatments in the main areas - just horrible. The non stop techno music at breakfast time was kind of loud. The staff should speak better English and have better knowledge of the country.

Maria Solli

Review

from Varese, Italy, 17 February 2009, 13:55


Rating
5 5 5 5 5 Overall
5 5 5 5 5 Staff
4 4 4 4 Rooms
5 5 5 5 5 Food
5 5 5 5 5 Fun
Comment: Unfortunately I stayed only for one night. It is a boutique hotel in the centre of Sofia, near St. Sophia Church.All the staff is very friendly and helpulf, they allow also lake check out whitout any charge extra. Very good place to start for a walking tour in the centre of the city.

Peter

Review

from UK, 08 October 2008, 12:13 (submitted from BULGARIA)


Rating
5 5 5 5 5 Overall
5 5 5 5 5 Staff
5 5 5 5 5 Rooms
4 4 4 4 Food
4 4 4 4 Fun
Comment: Stayed here for one night in September, before spending the next night in Les Fleurs. Good location especially for exploring sights of Sofia. Rooms very spacious and clean. Bathrooms in particular very nice.

Hotel staff was very friendly. Bed was very big and comfortable.

Breakfast was of a very good standard and plenty of choice. Hotel bar was good for an evening drink.

Hotel overall in my opinion just slightly better than les fleurs for service and breakfast, however les Fleurs had a bit more character in the rooms. Both excellent hotels and worth the money.

Sofia was a nice city; some good attractions all easily walk able on foot with nice bars and some good restaurants. Plus for me was not to touristy.

As well as the obvious attractions take time to visit the women’s market, it shows the contrast between new and old Sofia.

kdkirstein

Review

from USA, 12 August 2008, 04:49


Rating
5 5 5 5 5 Overall
5 5 5 5 5 Staff
5 5 5 5 5 Rooms
5 5 5 5 5 Fun
Comment: Outstanding, beautiful hotel in a very central location. Was there two nights. An amazing hotel experience.

Garry

Review

from UK, 02 April 2008, 10:32 (submitted from BULGARIA)


Rating
4 4 4 4 Overall
3 3 3 Staff
5 5 5 5 5 Rooms
4 4 4 4 Food
4 4 4 4 Fun
Comment: It was great. Fantastic location, lovely hotel, nice staff

If I had to be picky ...... we asked the receptionist to sort out some taxi\'s to take us to the airport the night before checking out for 10am. When 10:30 rocked round and still no taxi\'s, the receptionist seemed unconcerned. We cleared off to the main road and sorted our own one. By the way, tell the taxi driver which terminal (we got dumped at T2 when we should have been at T1 over 3km away!

Ulrich Kann

Review

from Berlin, Germany, 08 January 2008, 16:31


Rating
5 5 5 5 5 Overall
5 5 5 5 5 Staff
5 5 5 5 5 Rooms
5 5 5 5 5 Food
4 4 4 4 Fun
Comment: This brand new very cute small hotel made to feel like in home. All of the people working there were smiling and smiling and ... smiling always helping me and my business collegues. Typical breakfast for Eastern Europe. I had it on the last floor. There was an unforgetable view to the city center.

Raffael Etecee

Review

from Rome, Italy, 31 July 2007, 15:00


Rating
5 5 5 5 5 Overall
5 5 5 5 5 Staff
5 5 5 5 5 Rooms
5 5 5 5 5 Food
5 5 5 5 5 Fun
Comment: This is a real gem of a hotel. We've stayed in many hotels, in many countries, and this has got to be the best yet, and we only had a "classic" room. The room was superb and very roomy with huge bed, plasma TV, desk, table for two and lounge chair. Our room faced the street but noise was not a problem. Bathroom was lovely and the whole room immaculate.
All the staff were extraordinary in their approach.What made the hotel particularly special was the staff and the attention to detail. A lot of thought had gone into making our stay enjoyable.

Stefan Nikolov

Review

from Varna, Bulgaria, 20 July 2007, 15:38


Rating
4 4 4 4 Overall
5 5 5 5 5 Staff
5 5 5 5 5 Rooms
5 5 5 5 5 Food
5 5 5 5 5 Fun
Comment: Last week I had a business trip in Sofia and decided to stay in this hotel cause they had some kind of promotion. I chose an executive room. My room was on the 8th floor and I had good view to the city center.The breakfast is on the top floor. This is some kind of problem 'cause I had to wait for the elevator around 6-7 minutes. I didn't have chance to watch TV but it was very notable that there were no pay tv channels, all of them were without additional charge. I forgot to take my laptop so I had to pay for using the business center (the access in the rooms is complimentary) but 3E for 1/2 hour was good price.

Neale Grey

Review

from Altrincham,


Rating
5 5 5 5 5 Overall
5 5 5 5 5 Staff
5 5 5 5 5 Rooms
5 5 5 5 5 Food
5 5 5 5 5 Fun
Comment: Good location especially for exploring sights of Sofia. Rooms very spacious and clean. Bathrooms in particular very nice.
Hotel overall in my opinion just slightly better than les fleurs for service and breakfast, however les Fleurs had a bit more character in the rooms. Both excellent hotels and worth the money.
Hotel staff was very friendly. Bed was very big and comfortable.
Breakfast was of a very good standard and plenty of choice. Hotel bar was good for an evening drink.