ETOA, IATA, ABBTA, RDA
English
Travel exhibitions in Europe - Profi Tours
Special interest tours
Transfers
Flights
Rent-a-Car

Reviews & comments on Dafi Hotel in Plovdiv

Hotel info Book now All reviews

Write your comments on Dafi Hotel in Plovdiv

Post a review

Name: 
Country
(optional): 
E-mail
(optional): 
Publish my e-mail
Comments:   
 Please type this word.
Please enter security word from the image :
Click on the stars to rate the hotel (optional):
poor good
Overall: 
Staff: 
Rooms: 
Food: 
Fun: 
 

James

Review

from UK, 23 August 2008, 00:48


Rating
4 4 4 4 Overall
5 5 5 5 5 Staff
5 5 5 5 5 Rooms
3 3 3 Food
3 3 3 Fun
Comment: My wife and I have stayed there four times and have always found the staff helpful. It is modern and clean. The junior suite provides good space and a bath. Beds were particularly comfortable. Prices have increased a bit but we still think it is the best in central Plovdiv

Rick Grey

Review

from UK, 29 July 2008, 17:35


Rating
4 4 4 4 Overall
4 4 4 4 Staff
4 4 4 4 Rooms
5 5 5 5 5 Food
5 5 5 5 5 Fun
Comment: A short walk from Old Plovdiv, I was definitely pleased with my experience at Hotel Dafi.
A short guy at the front desk was very helpful in recommending restaurants, bars, and nightlife for our group of 26-35 yo friends from California.
Rooms were clean, air-conditioned and internet access was great.

Ginger Pumpkin

Review

from North Wales, 23 July 2008, 00:43


Rating
4 4 4 4 Overall
4 4 4 4 Staff
4 4 4 4 Rooms
5 5 5 5 5 Food
5 5 5 5 5 Fun
Comment: A nice, relatively new, hotel in a good location. Our room was spacious, clean and with good a/c. The staff are reserved but friendly and as helpful as they could be with limited English. Look out for George the vocal hotel ginger cat who welcomes you and sends you on your way.
The bathroom was clean and included all the usual necessities one finds in 3 star hotels. However, the shower tended to flood the bathroom floor.
Location wise it could not be better. Turn right out of the front door and 3 minutes later you are on the main pedestrianised shopping street. Turn left and 3 minutes later (going via the underpass) you are in the Old Town.
A couple of things to be wary of though. First the hotel safe - they do not seem to have cottoned on to the concept so you are given an envelope which is then dually stamped, stapled and ferreted away. You are given a receipt. Second, the breakfast. Bulgaria is not big on breakfasts. If you really must have breakfast at your hotel do not come here. Well, not in the summer anyway. As mentioned in a previous review breakfast is found at the cafe/restaurant next door where an adequate array of buffet style food is served. Here you can enjoy food left out to go slowly off in the company of a colony of flies. My wife and I are not big breakfast eaters so it was not a problem for us (it is much better to wait until a little later in the day to stop for a drink and a slice of cake the size of your head for a ridiculously low price). We were not given the choice but if you are I would suggest booking room only and seeing if you can get a discount.
Plovdiv is an interesting historical town but, at present, 2 days should prove sample time to see the sights. Fortunately for Plovdiv but unfortunately for visitors it appears that a lot of EU money is pouring into the city on restoration projects - this means a number of places are closed. In terms of restaurants I thoroughly recommend 'Janet' in the Old Town. It's name is in Cyrillic which you will have to work out for yourself as I do not have that alphabet on my keyboard. The food is pricey by Bulgarian standards but extremely cheap by western European standards - a three course meal for two with wine came to c.£20 (and I do not mean each).
Conmen taxi drivers are not so much a problem as in Sofia but, to be honest, the centre of Plovdiv is so compact that you will probably only need to use them getting to and from your points of arrival/departure.

patrick johns

Review

from North Wales, 07 December 2007, 14:40


Rating
1 Overall
1 Staff
1 Rooms
1 Food
1 Fun
Comment: terrible experience, the staff was mean and the hygiene was disgusting.

Ryana Heather

Review

from San Diego,UK, 03 July 2007, 03:48


Rating
4 4 4 4 Overall
5 5 5 5 5 Staff
5 5 5 5 5 Rooms
5 5 5 5 5 Food
5 5 5 5 5 Fun
Comment: The staff acts very professional. Rooms are nice and clean, perfect for short stay. The only one thing I found a little disturbing was that the restaurant attached to the hotel wasn’t very clean.

Nomura

Review

from Japan, 20 November 2006, 05:12


Rating
4 4 4 4 Overall
4 4 4 4 Staff
4 4 4 4 Rooms
4 4 4 4 Food
4 4 4 4 Fun
Comment: I stayed 2 nights there in November.
Hotel staff are very kind. The room was clean and warm.
The waitress served me breakfast in very kind manner.
As breakfast I had ham and cheese omelet.

morten bøstrup

Review

from denmark, 27 February 2006, 17:00


Rating
4 4 4 4 Overall
5 5 5 5 5 Staff
4 4 4 4 Rooms
4 4 4 4 Food
4 4 4 4 Fun
Comment: Just came back from Plovdiv, 4 guys, staid one overnight at the Dafi's - been there before - nice little hotel - very polite staff - nice room - situated fantastic in the center of
Plovdiv - surely come back

Charlie

Review

from Ireland, 13 July 2005, 20:32


Rating
1 Overall
2 2 Staff
1 Rooms
1 Food
1 Fun
Comment: Poor hotel, with small rooms.I'll neverl go back there