ETOA, IATA, ABBTA, RDA
English
Travel exhibitions in Europe - Profi Tours
Special interest tours
Transfers
Flights
Rent-a-Car

Reviews & comments on Edelweiss Hotel in Golden Sands

Hotel info Book now All reviews

Write your comments on Edelweiss Hotel in Golden Sands

Post a review

Name: 
Country
(optional): 
E-mail
(optional): 
Publish my e-mail
Comments:   
 Please type this word.
Please enter security word from the image :
Click on the stars to rate the hotel (optional):
poor good
Overall: 
Staff: 
Rooms: 
Food: 
Fun: 
 

Jasmin

Review

from Cyprus, 31 August 2009, 08:07


Rating
1 Overall
1 Staff
1 Rooms
1 Food
2 2 Fun
Comment: We arrived at 4.00am august 2009. There was no bed for our son. We asked them to bring one and when they did they gave us the sheets to make the bed.
Very rude, food very bad. The area at breakfast and dinner was very dirty. The rooms never cleaned. People at reception were very rude. air-condition sometimes was cold but the most of the times was hot. When we told them they didn't care.
i do not recommend this hotel for your vacation.

Rachel Shawn

Review

from UK, 28 August 2009, 02:52


Rating
1 Overall
1 Staff
2 2 Rooms
1 Food
2 2 Fun
Comment: Food in hotel was awful. Bulgarian hotels dont really provide "hot" food, so when the food was luke warm this was to be accepted. However the food had various spices added to them and everything was covered in a thick sauce which was awful. On more than one occasion I had food poisioning, meat was often "just" cooked.
The location of the hotel is up away from the beach and main area, however to get to it you have to go down and (then of course back up) a hell of a lot of stairs and the ones the hotel suggests has no lighting and is through the woods. Most the stairs are unstable also. The walk to the beach / prom area was enough to cause aches the youngest and fittest. On the last day we stored our cases in the room provided until it was time to go - however when we actually needed to get our cases back we were left waiting a further 15 - 20 minutes for a staff member to return with the key! Oh and there is nothing for children, no entertainment, and what they class as a gym is a dark dingy room, with about 4 things that have seen better days!!
Overall the hotel needs some urgent attention and I will be suprised if they have ever had a returning guest. Food = bad. Room = bad. Location = terrible.

Christiana

Review

from Hungary, 02 September 2008, 20:48


Rating
4 4 4 4 Overall
4 4 4 4 Staff
4 4 4 4 Rooms
5 5 5 5 5 Food
5 5 5 5 5 Fun
Comment: I was at this hotel last year, we had a double room with swimming pool view. The rooms are very large and clean. The stuff was very ok from the guy from the swimming pool bar till the guy from car rental. It is 5 minutes from the beach but you have to go through a little park with some stairs to get there. There are some rooms that have sea view. They have also children pool. Regarding the breakfast it is true that I wasnt pleased. A lot of food but not so good.

Koga

Review

from Romania, 17 August 2008, 10:13


Rating
2 2 Overall
4 4 4 4 Staff
4 4 4 4 Rooms
4 4 4 4 Food
5 5 5 5 5 Fun
Comment: No four star, that's for sure, but neither is the price. The trip to the beach is not all that awful, about 7 minutes goig up and more like 5 going down (and i'm no athlete). The room is clean (and kept clean impeccably), large enough, the view is great, especially from the upper floors. The food was indeed unsatisfactory, lacking in variety, the restaurant seeming part of a different picture altogether, with staff lacking in all aspects, including cleanliness. We only had breakfast there but I could definitely congratulate myself for not having got the "all inclusive". The pool, seamed fine, but I don't like pools, so I never used it. The front desk staff was ok, being sufficient in English, (only one spoke German), but lacking in general presence and attitude(again, deffinitely no four stars), and they spent an awfull lot of time chitchating in their language, wich, to me was a bit unconfortable. All and all, the hotel is ok, no four stars though, more like two stars.

lukas

Review

from italy, 28 July 2008, 15:20


Rating
5 5 5 5 5 Overall
4 4 4 4 Staff
5 5 5 5 5 Rooms
3 3 3 Food
5 5 5 5 5 Fun
Comment: It was great last year in 2007... this year we ll go for 2 weeks.... than we can have 4 times pub crawl :-)

Annie

Review

from UK, 16 July 2008, 16:45


Rating
5 5 5 5 5 Overall
4 4 4 4 Staff
4 4 4 4 Rooms
3 3 3 Food
4 4 4 4 Fun
Comment: Very friendly personnel, good breakfast. We'll definitely return there some day.

Tammie

Review

from england, 26 April 2008, 12:05


Rating
1 Overall
1 Staff
1 Rooms
1 Food
1 Fun
Comment: DONT GO HERE ONLY IF WANT TO LOSE WEIGHT!

simon

Review

from uk, 12 December 2005, 03:09


Comment: Hotel Edelweiss Borovets

I have visited Borovets every year for the past 12 years, I have stayed in most of the hotels and dined in most of the local restaurants, Hotel Edelweiss was my choice of hotel for the 2004/2005 ski season and I wasn't disappointed at all, in fact, I felt that it compared very well to most of the higher rated hotels in the resort.

Located just outside the centre of Borovets, (less than 15 minutes walk) and having undergone a full refurbishment for the 2004 season, I and most other people I spoke to during my stay agreed that it was hard to find genuine fault with anything. (excluding one couple having a domestic at 3 a.m on the first night, not the hotels fault)

I had chosen to travel alone on this occasion and was nicely surprised by what I found, as is often the case when you see pictures of the hotel in the brochures, the hotel looked different, but different in a good way, it was smart, clean and modern, the front of house team were very efficient and polite, check in was smooth, professional and direct.

My room was spacious, warm and modern, I had been allocated a twin bedded room for single occupancy, the beds, (I tried both) were firm but very comfortable, the room itself had a new colour television witch showed mostly Bulgarian tv but there was also Eurosport and 1 or 2 other English speaking channels, I had taken my portable dvd player with me and was able to connect it via the scart socket in the back of the tv to enable me to watch some films if I wanted to, the same thing could be of use to people with children for connecting a games consol.

There was plenty of storage, soft lighting, telephone and the brand new double glazed windows did the job they were created to do, the En-suite bathroom was typically Bulgarian, basic and plain, there was complimentary soap and shower gel sachets and fresh clean towels, but above all, the bathroom was very clean, the housekeeping staff were polite and serviced the room daily to a high standard. (I left a very large tip when I departed).

The Hotel Edelweiss has a good sized modern bar in the basement which leads down from reception, MTV or Eurosport were shown on the screen and my goodness do they poor large measures, I asked for a large whiskey and was promptly given nearly half a pint of jonnie walker black label for the princely sum of £2.00, naturally I made a hasty retreat before they realised their mistake, only to find out later that it is normal to receive that kind of measure, with measures like that, a cardboard box in the car park would have seemed nice, I digress.

As in most Hotels in Borovets, my accommodation was on a half board basis, (Breakfast and Dinner included), as a seasoned traveller and a regular to the resort, normally I would opt to dine out in the local restaurants but since the hotel seemed so good, I decided to give the food a chance as well, I was not disappointed, Breakfast and Dinner are both Buffet style.

At breakfast there was always a selection of salads, cold meats, local cheese and one or two local dishes, then on the hot plate there was at least two choices of eggs, bacon, local sausage and tomato, there was also a selection of cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurt and even some pastry’s if you fancied something sweet, there was a machine with orange flavoured drink, though it was not pure juice, more like a cordial, fresh juice is available from a waiter at a small cost, also coffee and tea is dispensed on a self service basis from 2 machines in the restaurant, there was a couple of small toasters, though they seemed very slow and you did have to queue a while during busy times.

Dinner was a selection of pasta, rice, cheese, ham and one or two local dishes on the cold buffet, then on the hot buffet there was a choice of vegetables, one or two meat dishes, pasta, fish and of course, chips, bread and butter was available as was ketchup, mayonnaise and any other sauce us Brits like to smear all over our food to trick out taste buds, dessert was a selection of cakes and pastry’s and ice cream is available from a waiter at a small cost.

Bulgarians don’t like to eat hot food, most of the time local food is served warm, however, the thoughtful people at Hotel Edelweiss have provided a couple of microwaves in the restaurant should you want your food piping hot.

I didn’t really have any grumbles about the hotel, though I wish id known there was no KETTLE in the room, I really need a couple of cups of Nescafe before I head off for a days skiing and again when I get back. Take your own brew kit with you.

Overall, The Hotel Edelweiss was modern, comfortable, friendly, warm and very clean. For a low budget hotel/holiday, I think you get a cracking good deal for your money, my next trip leaves in 4 weeks time.

One last thing, Bulgaria is not a rich country, though the locals are rich in character, they appreciate us taking our money to their country, the local wage equates to approximately £30 a month for most of them so please do remember to tip wherever you go.

Simon

Review

from UK, 12 December 2005, 03:02


Rating
4 4 4 4 Overall
4 4 4 4 Staff
4 4 4 4 Rooms
4 4 4 4 Food
4 4 4 4 Fun
Comment: Hotel Edelweiss Borovets

I have visited Borovets every year for the past 12 years, I have stayed in most of the hotels and dined in most of the local restaurants, Hotel Edelweiss was my choice of hotel for the 2004/2005 ski season and I wasn't disappointed at all, in fact, I felt that it compared very well to most of the higher rated hotels in the resort.

Located just outside the centre of Borovets, (less than 15 minutes walk) and having undergone a full refurbishment for the 2004 season, I and most other people I spoke to during my stay agreed that it was hard to find genuine fault with anything. (excluding one couple having a domestic at 3 a.m on the first night, not the hotels fault)

I had chosen to travel alone on this occasion and was nicely surprised by what I found, as is often the case when you see pictures of the hotel in the brochures, the hotel looked different, but different in a good way, it was smart, clean and modern, the front of house team were very efficient and polite, check in was smooth, professional and direct.

My room was spacious, warm and modern, I had been allocated a twin bedded room for single occupancy, the beds, (I tried both) were firm but very comfortable, the room itself had a new colour television witch showed mostly Bulgarian tv but there was also Eurosport and 1 or 2 other English speaking channels, I had taken my portable dvd player with me and was able to connect it via the scart socket in the back of the tv to enable me to watch some films if I wanted to, the same thing could be of use to people with children for connecting a games consol.

There was plenty of storage, soft lighting, telephone and the brand new double glazed windows did the job they were created to do, the En-suite bathroom was typically Bulgarian, basic and plain, there was complimentary soap and shower gel sachets and fresh clean towels, but above all, the bathroom was very clean, the housekeeping staff were polite and serviced the room daily to a high standard. (I left a very large tip when I departed).

The Hotel Edelweiss has a good sized modern bar in the basement which leads down from reception, MTV or Eurosport were shown on the screen and my goodness do they poor large measures, I asked for a large whiskey and was promptly given nearly half a pint of jonnie walker black label for the princely sum of £2.00, naturally I made a hasty retreat before they realised their mistake, only to find out later that it is normal to receive that kind of measure, with measures like that, a cardboard box in the car park would have seemed nice, I digress.

As in most Hotels in Borovets, my accommodation was on a half board basis, (Breakfast and Dinner included), as a seasoned traveller and a regular to the resort, normally I would opt to dine out in the local restaurants but since the hotel seemed so good, I decided to give the food a chance as well, I was not disappointed, Breakfast and Dinner are both Buffet style.

At breakfast there was always a selection of salads, cold meats, local cheese and one or two local dishes, then on the hot plate there was at least two choices of eggs, bacon, local sausage and tomato, there was also a selection of cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurt and even some pastry’s if you fancied something sweet, there was a machine with orange flavoured drink, though it was not pure juice, more like a cordial, fresh juice is available from a waiter at a small cost, also coffee and tea is dispensed on a self service basis from 2 machines in the restaurant, there was a couple of small toasters, though they seemed very slow and you did have to queue a while during busy times.

Dinner was a selection of pasta, rice, cheese, ham and one or two local dishes on the cold buffet, then on the hot buffet there was a choice of vegetables, one or two meat dishes, pasta, fish and of course, chips, bread and butter was available as was ketchup, mayonnaise and any other sauce us Brits like to smear all over our food to trick out taste buds, dessert was a selection of cakes and pastry’s and ice cream is available from a waiter at a small cost.

Bulgarians don’t like to eat hot food, most of the time local food is served warm, however, the thoughtful people at Hotel Edelweiss have provided a couple of microwaves in the restaurant should you want your food piping hot.

I didn’t really have any grumbles about the hotel, though I wish id known there was no KETTLE in the room, I really need a couple of cups of Nescafe before I head off for a days skiing and again when I get back. Take your own brew kit with you.

Overall, The Hotel Edelweiss was modern, comfortable, friendly, warm and very clean. For a low budget hotel/holiday, I think you get a cracking good deal for your money, my next trip leaves in 4 weeks time.

One last thing, Bulgaria is not a rich country, though the locals are rich in character, they appreciate us taking our money to their country, the local wage equates to approximately £30 a month for most of them so please do remember to tip wherever you go.