ETOA, IATA, ABBTA, RDA
English
Travel exhibitions in Europe - Profi Tours
Special interest tours
Transfers
Flights
Rent-a-Car

Reviews & comments on Kempinski Grand Arena Hotel in Bansko

Hotel info Book now All reviews

Write your comments on Kempinski Grand Arena Hotel in Bansko

Post a review

Name: 
Country
(optional): 
E-mail
(optional): 
Publish my e-mail
Comments:   
 Please type this word.
Please enter security word from the image :
Click on the stars to rate the hotel (optional):
poor good
Overall: 
Staff: 
Rooms: 
Food: 
Fun: 
 

Jackie

Review

from Ireland, 04 February 2010, 18:11


Rating
5 5 5 5 5 Overall
5 5 5 5 5 Staff
5 5 5 5 5 Rooms
5 5 5 5 5 Food
4 4 4 4 Fun
Comment: Splendid hotel, it is very close to the center and to the gondola lift. The staff is polite and speaks English fluently. The prime location makes this pearl first choice for a ski holiday in Bansko. The food is not so delicious, but it's a good occasion to go for some apres-ski bars. The hotel boasts amazing mountain views, I love it!

Jackinson family

Review

from Wales, 24 September 2009, 02:40


Rating
5 5 5 5 5 Overall
4 4 4 4 Staff
5 5 5 5 5 Rooms
3 3 3 Food
5 5 5 5 5 Fun
Comment: We certainly enjoyed our stay in this hotel, it is indeed an exquisite one. It's perfectly situated for a ski holiday in Bansko. We thought the hotel itself was perfect: wonderful wellness area, large rooms, everything very clean, and very friendly staff.
For dinners we had the buffet, ample choice, but not good food at all.
The ski area was a pleasant surprise, with nice slopes, new infrastructure, many developments. Apparently Bansko can take pride in its alpine skiing!

Peter Newman

Review

from London, United Kingdom, 28 February 2009, 04:23


Rating
5 5 5 5 5 Overall
5 5 5 5 5 Staff
5 5 5 5 5 Rooms
5 5 5 5 5 Food
5 5 5 5 5 Fun
Comment: We certainly enjoyed our stay in this hotel. It's perfectly situated for a ski holiday in Bansko. We thought the hotel itself was perfect: wonderful wellness area, large rooms, everything very clean, and very friendly staff.
For dinners we had the buffet, no top restaurant of course, but very good as buffets come, with a large choice for adults and children alike.
The ski area was a pleasant surprise, with nice slopes, 70 km of pistes and very new infrastructure.
The town itself is getting over-developed, but you can see it is still in a relatively poor country.

douglas

Review

from Ireland, 03 February 2009, 09:35


Rating
5 5 5 5 5 Overall
5 5 5 5 5 Staff
5 5 5 5 5 Rooms
4 4 4 4 Food
5 5 5 5 5 Fun
Comment: Kempinski Grand Arena situated in front of the Gondola lift, hotel amazing, food and service great. Recommended for a luxury stay. Tuition from ULEN ski school fantastic.

Lee Graham

Review

from Birmingham, UK, 02 February 2009, 12:56


Rating
4 4 4 4 Overall
5 5 5 5 5 Staff
5 5 5 5 5 Rooms
5 5 5 5 5 Food
5 5 5 5 5 Fun
Comment: The hotel is kept clean and tidy and does have a 5 star feel about the place.
When we arrived at 10pm on the nightime, there was a packed lunch for everyone (6 in party), The reception area is well manned. At check-in there was 6 people serving as they wanted to ensure a good start especially after a 3 hour transfer from the hotel.
The Hotel Rooms were very roomy, lots of space to put your clothes, slippers, condiments and robes were provided. A big flat screen tv with 39 channels, one of which shows the slopes of bansko.
The bonus of the room was the walkin shower and a bath with shower. This hotel had tried to accommodate everything, there was even a stool and scales in the bathroom. It was the little touches that helped like the tuck in service and even a birthday cake for one of my party!
Lounge Area- there is a very spacious bar area. Comfy sofa's around at table that sit 6 people. There are 20 similar setup's so you can imagine the area that 2 people have to cover when serving. There were times when there was a language barrier when ordering but in general the staff were polite and pleasant.
This may come across as rude as there was no full conversation but in general we had to ask to order and what it was. The bar drinks were expensive. 4 lev's for 1/2 a glass of local beer, three of our party do not drink so they would have dragon tea/green tea at 5 Lev's per pot. When I went in search of a drink on the nights out the cheapest was 8 Levs for 2 pints of local beer...Amigos bar . (about 2 quid a pint.) Some of the skiers were saying that 2/3 levs in the town but no entertainment.
Hotel Pool/billards Table - Two of us went to play pool, found that the hire of the table was 20 levs for one hour! The table quality was not good.
Swimming Pool/Spa/Wellness - This was by far the main attraction after a hard day on the slopes. The prices in the spa were british prices even though not even an hour in some cases.
Most of my party had a massage on the Friday but had to book on the monday to avoid disappointment.
There was Hot tub, two saunas, steam room, jazcuzzi, good size swimming pool and loads of loungers.
Dining Area- Yes, the wine list is expensive, considering that it is suppose to be cheap in bulgaria. We had 2 large bottles of water with our meal and this was 20 levs (£10). We went to a local bar and had 3 cokes, 2 largers and 2 halfs of larger for 23 levs so felt cheated abit in this area.
The food was of good quality, and a large choice. We all enjoy the selection and each night was different, sea food night/asia night. The only one downfall with the food and this is probably the same in most half board places was that it is very dry...I mean Desserts were all cakes and by the end of the week could have had some ice-cream. and likewise with the buffet.. there was no gravy, (I accept that some dishes had sauces.) or in the case of breakfast, there was loads of choices but sauages/bacon, mushrooms dont feel the same without beans or chopped tomato's. Probably the british in me...:-)
The Ski room is right on the slopes so can ski to the door, I found the assistants very helpful, please note that they store your ski's and boots on a slot that is your room number. they have boot warmers for each room. You dont need to enter the ski rental place until taking back skis/boots at the end of the week

dansera

Review

from Birmingham, UK, 31 January 2009, 18:43 (submitted from UNITED STATES)


Rating
5 5 5 5 5 Overall
4 4 4 4 Staff
5 5 5 5 5 Rooms
4 4 4 4 Food
4 4 4 4 Fun
Comment: Undoubtly the best hotel in Bulgaria. Wonderful location.

KarisBailey

Review

from Manchester,UK, 20 May 2008, 12:21


Rating
5 5 5 5 5 Overall
5 5 5 5 5 Staff
5 5 5 5 5 Rooms
5 5 5 5 5 Food
5 5 5 5 5 Fun
Comment: Myself and my boyfriend along with another couple stayed at the Kempinski in Bansko for a week in March 2008.
We all had a fantastic holiday and could not fault the hotel at all.
The hotel was fantastic and very reasonably priced (we booked through bookableholidays.co.uk).
The rooms were of an excellent size, clean and very comfortable with lovely views.
The hotel food was aswell of a very good standard and catered for all of our tastes.
We particulary enjoyed the spa area which was much needed after a long day on the piste. We all treated ourselves to treatments on the last day, which were absoultely amazing.
The hotel was very hot, that would be the only concern I would like to point out!
Bansko itself is a lovely quaint town undergoing current major rejuvination. This did not put any of us off, it only encourgaed us to come back again once it is complete.
The ski resort of Bansko was very good.
The first few days we were a little on the poor side, only due to lack of the white stuff!! Once there was a large downpour of the snow in the middle of the week, we explored the whole mountain and thoroughly enjoyed it!!!!
Our friends had lessons in large groups which they would not recommend. If you were to have lessons, they would say to have private lessons which are only slightly more expensive.
One thing that I would say also about the skiing is to book everything before you go out there as they do bump up the prices!!

George Brown

Review

from Edinburgh, Scotland, 02 April 2008, 04:48


Rating
5 5 5 5 5 Overall
5 5 5 5 5 Staff
4 4 4 4 Rooms
5 5 5 5 5 Food
5 5 5 5 5 Fun
Comment: A group of seven of us stayed at the Kempinsk during a skiing holiday in Feb 2008. The hotel is in a great location right beside the gondola.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and considering its high rating prices at the bar were not too expensive and spa facilities were great after a hards days skiing.
We only stayed on a B+B status and the breakfast was excellent, we did have a bar meal one evening and it was also very good. I would definately recommend the pizza cafe beside the ski storage room, the pizza's are some of the best I've ever tasted.
I would say the hotel is more 4* and is only let down by some of the shoddy finishing that is unfortunately very common with Bulgarian building that have been thrown up very quickly.
The local town is a building site, but I went for the skiing so that didn't bother me to much.

graeme mcdowell

Review

from spain, 26 March 2007, 02:02


Comment: great hotel...voted in leading hotels in the world....have stayed twice though staff do need to learn how to smile...a higher level of customer service training needed!!!! however iwould chose to come here in preference to many years of skiing in france....bansko is a great resort but does need more ski runs..when these are built bansko will definately become one of europes best ski resorts

Koos Schouten

Review

from spain, 03 July 2006, 23:55


Rating
5 5 5 5 5 Overall
5 5 5 5 5 Staff
5 5 5 5 5 Rooms
5 5 5 5 5 Food
5 5 5 5 5 Fun
Comment: Lilly and I wanted to spent a few days together to celebrate our fourth wedding anniversary and the (almost) end of her academic year in Budapest.

Instead of making a mad dash for the seaside, we decided to spend four days in Bansko. Our choice was mainly because it is closer and I personally prefer the mountains in summer. We stayed at the wonderful Kempinski Hotel Grand Arena in Bansko. Even though there was some minor repair work going on, we could not have made a better decision. The room, the restaurants, the spa and especially the service were of a standard rarely seen outside of the Sofia Hilton where we had our reception four years ago. To our surprise we discovered that the same guy who looked after us so well back then at the Hilton is now the restaurant manager in Bansko.

Congratulations to Konstantin Zeuke, the Kempinski Hotel’s General Manager for the level of perfection achieved by his staff!

sheila

Review

from england, 02 November 2005, 12:37


Rating
5 5 5 5 5 Overall
5 5 5 5 5 Staff
5 5 5 5 5 Rooms
5 5 5 5 5 Food
5 5 5 5 5 Fun
Comment: absolutely fantastic!!!
spa !!excellent,rooms ,staff,food, all excellent...cant wait to return !!!!
i have stayed at many hotels..this is one of the very best !!! enjoy!!