ETOA, IATA, ABBTA, RDA
English
Travel exhibitions in Europe - Profi Tours
Special interest tours
Transfers
Flights
Rent-a-Car

Reviews & comments on Radisson Blu Grand Hotel in Sofia

Hotel info Book now All reviews

Write your comments on Radisson Blu Grand Hotel in Sofia

Post a review

Name: 
Country
(optional): 
E-mail
(optional): 
Publish my e-mail
Comments:   
 Please type this word.
Please enter security word from the image :
Click on the stars to rate the hotel (optional):
poor good
Overall: 
Staff: 
Rooms: 
Food: 
Fun: 
 

Bojan Sapkar

Review

from Skopje, Makedonia, 03 September 2009, 08:29


Rating
5 5 5 5 5 Overall
5 5 5 5 5 Staff
5 5 5 5 5 Rooms
5 5 5 5 5 Food
5 5 5 5 5 Fun
Comment: Radisson Blu has a very good position in the center of Sofia. The rooms are spacious and clean, and the same goes for the bathroom. The service in the hotel is adequate to the hotel rating. The breakfast is very good, with lot of choises and it is served in the ground floor restaurant with a nice garden up front. The main pedestrian area, Vitosha Str. is near by, some 5-10 minutes walk in the old part of Sofia, where you can find a lot of nice coffe bars and restaurants.

Fred Trevolbolt

Review

from Sweden, 10 August 2009, 17:04


Rating
3 3 3 Overall
5 5 5 5 5 Staff
5 5 5 5 5 Rooms
5 5 5 5 5 Food
5 5 5 5 5 Fun
Comment: Great location and high standards, as usual with Radisson SAS. Our room had a great view of the National Assembly and the square in front.

Room price was fine, but anything else is amazingly expensive. And I mean *anything*. If you order online the breakfast is usually not included, and considering how much it costs you're better off eating somewhere else. Don't buy coffee in the café on the second floor, it'll set you back more than you think.

Sophie Marcinelle

Review

from Paris,France, 03 June 2009, 04:43


Rating
3 3 3 Overall
5 5 5 5 5 Staff
4 4 4 4 Rooms
5 5 5 5 5 Food
5 5 5 5 5 Fun
Comment: The Radisson Sofia is situated right in the heart of the city very close to the cathedral.
The room are well furnished even if a bit simple for a Radisson and some refurbishment would be necessary. But, anyway, it is good, clean and comfortable.
Furthermore, the breakfast offers a lot of variety of good quality disches.
The staff is very helpfull and try to help efficiently what ever possible you could hope.

Brad Seaman

Review

from Melbourne, Australia, 18 April 2009, 19:55


Rating
5 5 5 5 5 Overall
5 5 5 5 5 Staff
4 4 4 4 Rooms
5 5 5 5 5 Food
5 5 5 5 5 Fun
Comment: Whilst the rooms were not amazing they were still very comfortable, offered solid 5 star accommodation and was great value for money. More importantly the staff were excellent and the location was superb with amazing views overlooking the main cathedral and parliament. We also stayed in a suite on our second stay there which boasted 2 toilets and a massive bathroom. If you can get breakfast included, it is thoroughly recommended although it is somewhat of a surreal experience given breakfast is served in the hotel's Irish Pub, Flanagans! It would be difficult not to return to this hotel were I to return to Sofia for another visit.

Mellisa Silver

Review

from UK, 23 September 2008, 14:54


Rating
4 4 4 4 Overall
5 5 5 5 5 Staff
5 5 5 5 5 Rooms
5 5 5 5 5 Food
5 5 5 5 5 Fun
Comment: This is a good modern hotel - what I would call a good international standard -no concessions necessary for it being in an Eastern European country.
The rooms are spacious, as are the bathrooms, with a bath and separate, large shower.
The location is good - it's an easy walk to the main sights of Sofia and it's only about 15 minutes from the airport, depending on traffic. Our room was at the front overlooking the parliament, The view was brilliant, but if you are a light sleeper, you might find the traffic noisy or the light a bit intrusive. (The curtains are nice and thick, but the light comes through around the edges - I woke up at 4.00am on the first night and thought that it was daylight!).

Gyllen Brock

Review

from Sweden, 23 September 2008, 01:11


Rating
4 4 4 4 Overall
4 4 4 4 Staff
5 5 5 5 5 Rooms
5 5 5 5 5 Food
4 4 4 4 Fun
Comment: The Radissonsas Sofia has big and clean rooms with free internet. The location is excellent, close to the city center and the airport.
Flannagans Bar & Restaurant is a nice place to eat and have a beer at. The breakfast in this hotel excellent.
The gym is small, unfortunately no swimmingpool.

George T

Review

from UK, 09 August 2005, 16:49


Rating
5 5 5 5 5 Overall
5 5 5 5 5 Staff
4 4 4 4 Rooms
5 5 5 5 5 Food
4 4 4 4 Fun
Comment: I have stayed here twice for business trips, and would definitely return. Location is great, being between the airport and the centre of town, but you can walk anywhere in town very easily. I was upgraded to a business suite, and had lovely views of the Nevsky cathedral, as well as a very spacious, comfortable set of rooms. Airconditioning was adjustable and well powered, essential for July when it was hot. On my first trip, I was in a a regular double room, and it was also spacious and well appointed.
Breakfast buffet was fine, had everything I needed, and it is convenient to have the restaurants on site if you do not want to venture out. Only one gripe - cost of calls from the room is extortionate - much cheaper and easier to get a phone card.
Staff all speak English, and are very friendly and helpful.

bibi

Review

from Greece, 27 July 2005, 20:52


Rating
5 5 5 5 5 Overall
5 5 5 5 5 Staff
5 5 5 5 5 Rooms
5 5 5 5 5 Food
5 5 5 5 5 Fun
Comment: I have stayed at the Radisson twice while on short business trips. I really enjoyed my stay both times and will definitely be back. The rooms are very comfortable, bathrooms fabulous, a decent range of English language t.v. stations which was such a treat coming from Athens where there is only one. I wasn't overly impressed with the breakfast buffet but the cocktails in the 'Irish' bar were fab.

ddo

Review

from Greece, 08 May 2004, 13:09


Rating
4 4 4 4 Overall
5 5 5 5 5 Staff
4 4 4 4 Rooms
5 5 5 5 5 Food
3 3 3 Fun
Comment: the hotel was very nice looking at a tzar mountenment and the alexsander nevsky and the parlament building and food and service are excellent.

misterfatboy

Review

from Greece, 25 March 2004, 15:52


Rating
5 5 5 5 5 Overall
5 5 5 5 5 Staff
5 5 5 5 5 Rooms
4 4 4 4 Food
4 4 4 4 Fun
Comment: Pros: Nice views, great service, good food, very pleasant ambience, good location.
Cons: No non-smoking areas in restaurants.

The SAS Radisson, like most hotels in Sofia, occupies a building that has been around for a while. During the later communist years, it was known as the Grand Hotel Bulgaria. It sits across from the Parliament building, behind which rises the newly gilded dome of Nevski Cathedral. The views, especially those from the upper floors are, thus, memorable.

The hotel has been completely redone inside and outside since it was acquired as a Radisson property, and it is beautiful. The lobby is warm and sparkling, the corridors and lounges are intimate and inviting, and the guest rooms are a delight. Thick, double-paned windows keep the street noise outside, and the furniture and decorations are subtle, tasteful, comfortable, and cheerful.

The best elements of the hotel are the service, which is friendly, attentive and discreet; and the bathrooms, which
are regal: Long, deep bathtubs lie alongside glassed-in shower stalls; there are two sinks, lots of towels, lots of lights, and lots of marble. And a telephone, of course, in case someone rings at an inopportune moment. :-)

If the hotel has any shortcoming, it is in the restaurants. There is one large room that serves as breakfast buffet and main restaurant throughout the day; the breakfast service is stunning, but after that the restaurant devolves to mediocrity, perhaps because the attention of the staff is directed to the "barbecue" grill on the rooftop, weather permitting. The grill is quite nice, offering a tapas buffet and a wide selection of meats and other dishes. This is the place for dinner, in preference to the main restaurant. Service is first-rate. There is also an "Irish Pub" in the building, with sandwiches, drinks, and an interesting assortment of local characters.

Unfortunately, there are no non-smoking sections in the restaurants.

Prices start at around USD $145 (weekends) and go upwards from there.