ETOA, IATA, ABBTA, RDA
English
Travel exhibitions in Europe - Profi Tours
Special interest tours
Transfers
Flights
Rent-a-Car

Reviews & comments on Rila Hotel in Borovets

Hotel info Book now All reviews

Write your comments on Rila Hotel in Borovets

Post a review

Name: 
Country
(optional): 
E-mail
(optional): 
Publish my e-mail
Comments:   
 Please type this word.
Please enter security word from the image :
Click on the stars to rate the hotel (optional):
poor good
Overall: 
Staff: 
Rooms: 
Food: 
Fun: 
 

Randel Crawnford

Review

from UK, 12 August 2009, 20:13


Rating
4 4 4 4 Overall
4 4 4 4 Staff
4 4 4 4 Rooms
4 4 4 4 Food
4 4 4 4 Fun
Comment: I don't agree with the last comment. Well, it is true that it is good value for money. Of course, you cannot expect sumptuous luxury from this hotel, it is a bit of old-fashioned, but still comfy and sold at pretty competitive prices. In my point of view, if you are not willing to pay about 1000 GBP for French Alps, then choose a nice Bulgarian resort, you will not be disappointed. As for the hotel, I think it is mid-range ski hotel..

JHON

Review

from UK, 20 July 2009, 20:15 (submitted from BULGARIA)


Rating
1 Overall
1 Staff
1 Rooms
2 2 Food
1 Fun
Comment: IS ONE OF THE MOST NOISY WITHOUT ISOLATION AT ALL!!!!IT SMELS URINE IN THE APPARTEMENT AREA ALL THE FLOR!!YOU HEAR EVERYTHING THAT HAPENS IN 5-6 APPARTEMENTS DISTANCE!!¨THE RECEPTION HARDLY SPEAKS TO YOU IF YOU ASK SOMETHING!!! IS TOO EXPENSIVE FOR THAT IT OFFERS AND BE CAREFUL ALL THE TIMES THE BILL....ESPECIALLY IF U PAY IN EURO!!

Peter

Review

from UK, 27 January 2009, 22:34 (submitted from UNITED KINGDOM)


Rating
5 5 5 5 5 Overall
5 5 5 5 5 Staff
5 5 5 5 5 Rooms
4 4 4 4 Food
5 5 5 5 5 Fun
Comment: went here for the 2nd time. Last time i went with my girlfriend and this time there was 5 lads.
Had a really good time and would love to go back tomorrow if i had the money and holidays :)
Its my 3rd time in Borovets and the night life is far most the best in all ski resorts i''ve been to.
If you read bad reports about this place then the people who write them are so far stuck up their own a** they are should be skiing in France drinking wine and s**t.
Some people describe this place as the Blackpool of Bulgaria. It is just a little better than Blackpool!

Wellsy

Review

from England, 27 January 2009, 15:09 (submitted from UNITED KINGDOM)


Comment: First of all I went with 4 other lads and had a belting holiday. If there's not a lot of snow on the slopes surrounding the hotel and it's too windy to take the Gondola to the top (brilliant when you can!) then just get plastered at any of the bars (and there's plenty).

Secondly....do not go to Mamma Mias. The blokes are well annoying as you'll find out while skiing and they're bugging you non-stop. I'll tell you now they have Setanta and English commentary, you'll no doubt hear it from one of the annoying fellas that work there 50 times a day though.

Definitely recommend Funkies, say hello to Ivan aka 'Jackie Boy' if he's working outside from the Geordie boys.

The strippers aren't bad either like, keep your hands off Sissy mind or my mate John will be well upset!

Seriously though, great place to go ,all the better if you get more snow than we did.

alex

Review

from u.k, 11 January 2009, 15:35 (submitted from UNITED KINGDOM)


Rating
5 5 5 5 5 Overall
3 3 3 Staff
4 4 4 4 Rooms
5 5 5 5 5 Food
3 3 3 Fun
Comment: couldnt falt hotel or ski schools and surrounding areas fantastic might i advise going to mamma mias steak house facing the rila and saying toffe sent you really good but if you dont like skiing there is nothing else to do that os the only thing overall though very good

Libby

Review

from United Kindom, 05 January 2009, 18:22 (submitted from UNITED KINGDOM)


Rating
5 5 5 5 5 Overall
5 5 5 5 5 Staff
5 5 5 5 5 Rooms
5 5 5 5 5 Food
5 5 5 5 5 Fun
Comment: Amazing hotel, best place to ski ever !!!!

Donna

Review

from England, 03 January 2009, 20:28 (submitted from UNITED KINGDOM)


Rating
5 5 5 5 5 Overall
5 5 5 5 5 Staff
4 4 4 4 Rooms
5 5 5 5 5 Food
4 4 4 4 Fun
Comment: I reccomend this hotel to ANYONE.
the mountains are on the foot of the hotel,the food is excellent,the staff are friendly,comfy rooms and great ski instructors.
this was the best holiday ever and also cheap but i will DEFENITLY come back next year

sharon

Review

from uk, 29 December 2008, 23:42 (submitted from UNITED KINGDOM)


Rating
5 5 5 5 5 Overall
5 5 5 5 5 Staff
5 5 5 5 5 Rooms
4 4 4 4 Food
5 5 5 5 5 Fun
Comment: Fantastic holiday great fun would swap it for summer holiday if had too, good hotel location fab, people very friendly went January 2008 and we are just packing to go again 2009 can not wait.

alice

Review

from UK, 16 May 2008, 15:40


Rating
5 5 5 5 5 Overall
5 5 5 5 5 Staff
5 5 5 5 5 Rooms
5 5 5 5 5 Food
5 5 5 5 5 Fun
Comment: i went to borovet bulgaria at the begining on january 2008. i stayed at the rila hotel. this was the best holiday i have ever had and i will never forget it! i have never had so much fun!

Lee Yates

Review

from UK, 05 February 2008, 17:41


Rating
3 3 3 Overall
2 2 Staff
3 3 3 Rooms
1 Food
4 4 4 4 Fun
Comment: Very good location at bottom of the slope, The food was very suspect though and there were no double beds. Needs a bit of TLC

chris and janice

Review

from england, 05 August 2007, 18:25


Comment: thinking of staying at Rila next year.need to speak with our good friend Krassi... married to lili with son pepe. lost his number ! email or mobile 07966964127 please help me to locate him.

Wes Fox

Review

from England, 19 March 2007, 17:01


Rating
5 5 5 5 5 Overall
4 4 4 4 Staff
4 4 4 4 Rooms
4 4 4 4 Food
5 5 5 5 5 Fun
Comment: What a fantastic holiday. Deffinately going again next year. Hotel Rila, area, instuctors in fact everything about it was fantastic except leaving at the end of the week. See you in 2008!!!!!!

becky

Review

from england, 19 February 2007, 11:47


Rating
5 5 5 5 5 Overall
5 5 5 5 5 Staff
5 5 5 5 5 Rooms
5 5 5 5 5 Food
5 5 5 5 5 Fun
Comment: brilliant. all the bars were good and the adult instuctor crazy was brilliant. he took us up the mountain and made a dvd of all the adults. katy and tania our leaders were really good and took us down a green run. sledging was fun in the evenings. snow and fog were good and the shops in the hotel were good. i got fluffy boots!!!! 20 of us went. 9 kids and 11 adults- all family!!

nic pelham

Review

from england, 14 February 2007, 02:00


Comment: 24 of us just got back fron rila hotel 7 families with kids all loved it goona book again for next year. Loved the skiing had great instructor/guide/friend Val taught us loads as we were first time skiers most of us, and told us all about Bulgarian life. went to some fab bars especially one next to the ski lift outside the rila with the log fire. we wre such good customers(we are all alkis) he kicked a table full of people out for us to watch the England match. Suprising what tipping does. Also katys wine bar (keep the secret girls tell em your off shopping) Great food at the Eagle went 3 times. Avoid the Snow bear they rip you off! They tell you you haven't paid enough which we had, then when you check the bill yourself they were about 20 levs over and we are not stingy. Oh yes and the yellow cheese. What is that all about? The Karaoke bar is a must if you can get to it, just like a night club. Unlike the Rila nightclub which is little more than a morgue. And the Irish bar that is advertised at the rila is shut. But we are all booking again because we haven't laught so much at each others missfortunes in a long time. What other excuses do you need? Remember the camcorder!

G Evans

Review

from UK, 25 January 2007, 22:29


Rating
3 3 3 Overall
3 3 3 Staff
4 4 4 4 Rooms
1 Food
2 2 Fun
Comment: Resort was good, Hotel room was spacious, comfortable and clean. Food was dire. Plenty of good local restaurants though, lots with yellow cheese!!!!

Vivian

Review

from England, 23 January 2007, 20:09


Comment: My sister has just returned from Borovets. She stayed, with her grown-up daughters, in the Rila Hotel, and really enjoyed it.
However, she said "The only thing not so impressive was the bedsheets ... too small & too thin. On top of the sheet was a really strange thing - like a duvet cover made from 2 whole sheets sewn together, but with a blanket inside. The blanket either went in at the bottom , or as with my bed, through a round hole cut (and neatly hemmed) in the middle of the sheet!"

a graham

Review

from uk, 08 January 2007, 21:18


Rating
5 5 5 5 5 Overall
5 5 5 5 5 Staff
4 4 4 4 Rooms
5 5 5 5 5 Food
5 5 5 5 5 Fun
Comment: before going to borovets i was really nervous due to all the negative reviews. however i was extremely suprised!!! the hotel itself is very basic but still requires what is needed, the staff are fab and always willing to help, the food in the restaurant was gorgeous and always hot, there was a huge selection, no prostitutes and few erotic bars but all kept very hidden. The most fab holiday ever!!! def be going back

Liza & Steve

Review

from Wales, 08 January 2007, 19:41


Rating
5 5 5 5 5 Overall
3 3 3 Staff
5 5 5 5 5 Rooms
3 3 3 Food
5 5 5 5 5 Fun
Comment: Just got back from a fab holiday staiying at the Rila Hotel. The hotel is in a great location at the bottom of the slopes, had a few problems with staff on the reception and bar who were rude and unhelpful during our stay but on the whole they were very good especially the maids who cleaned rooms thoroughly every day and the staff in the resturant. Had a fantastioc view on the 8th floor looking out over the mountians, a few of our party had rooms at the front of the hotel and said it was quite noisey but i think they may have been the ones making the noise half the time. Food in the restaurant was ok you would not starve! soups are really good. eating out is so cheap and good that we only ate in on two nights and one of those nights was the gala dinner on new years eve. Resort is quite lively and there is something for evey one, 10 pin bowling, singing Karaoke or sitting and relaxing in one of the quite bars with open log fires with a Hot Choclate and brandy. Now to the important bit - the Skiings - we were quire lucky with the snow as we were worried before we went casue there did not seam to be a lot, but snow cannons were working in full force when wo got there and after 2 days had a heavy snow fall which enabled most of the runs to open. Ski school is great our instructor Krassi ( whom we also had the previous year and by chance found him on the slopes again) was brilliant and could not do enough to help spending extra time in the mornings with those who where struggling a bit. Had a Great holiday and cant wait to go back next year, would not go this time again as it is too busy and you have the worry of not a lot of snow so am looking to book to go back in March 2008. Would reccommed Borovets to anyone just hope that joining the EU does not change it too much!!!!

Rebecca

Review

from England, 01 January 2007, 15:58


Comment: I have just come back from the rila hotel and I am sooooooooo in love with Dani the ski instructor. Not good on the eyes but so so so Kind and genourous he gave me a photo frame. rila hotel bolgaria is such a brill place I would jump if my parents said we are going again.

Joanne

Review

from England, 12 March 2006, 22:37


Comment: Ive just come back from staying in the hotel Rila and it was brilliant!!! The instructors were really nice and helped in any way they could not just in the skiin aspect! The food wasnt so good but you just have to choose the right things. Some of the bulgarian people were rude and didnt know the meaning of smile but you got use to it. I would defo go back and would recommend it

LESLEY

Review

from ENGLAND, 10 March 2006, 15:23


Rating
5 5 5 5 5 Overall
5 5 5 5 5 Staff
5 5 5 5 5 Rooms
3 3 3 Food
5 5 5 5 5 Fun
Comment: After hearing mixed reports about the Hotel Rila we were a bit unsure as to what to expect. It was our first time skiing and we had a great time! The hotel Rila is an excellent hotel with beautiful views, ideally situated next to slopes. Although a good tip may be to request a quiet room as we did hear that some rooms were very noisy. We'd heard bad reports about the food and although it wasn't great we were pleasantly surprised. There was always plenty of choice but not necessarily hot, although they provide a microwave if necessary.
I cannot praise the ski school enough, they were fantastic with excellent instructors (very patient!)
I would recommend this resort to anyone. We had a fantastic holiday! Excellent skiing with beautiful surroundings! Loved it!!

kat

Review

from england, 21 February 2006, 20:47


Rating
5 5 5 5 5 Overall
4 4 4 4 Staff
5 5 5 5 5 Rooms
3 3 3 Food
5 5 5 5 5 Fun
Comment: stayed in hotel rila ! had such a great time it was amazing ! food ok .rooms clean and very nice ! location was perfect and the ski school boro sports was soo good !our instuctor was sooooooooo nice which made our holiday lovely 'go teddy ' :) ! it was just a wonderful hoilday and cmnt wait to go back next year !
:)

kat

Review

from england, 21 February 2006, 20:42


Rating
5 5 5 5 5 Overall
3 3 3 Staff
4 4 4 4 Rooms
3 3 3 Food
5 5 5 5 5 Fun
Comment: we went on 11th febuary for a week and i had the best time ever !room was lovely and clean .food was ok ! ski school was amazing and our instuctor was soooo nice! go teddy! :) the location was perfect and hopfuly we go bak next year ave to talk dad round ! it was great for teenagers(my self) and loads of things to do !
:) im still on a high

Amy

Review

from Kent, England, 26 January 2006, 12:10


Rating
4 4 4 4 Overall
2 2 Staff
5 5 5 5 5 Rooms
4 4 4 4 Food
4 4 4 4 Fun
Comment: We stayed at the Rila 14-21 Jan 2006. We arrived about 1am but the restaurant stayed open and check in was quick, although some people on the same flight said they had to wait 2 hours to check in! Room was a fantastic size and the bathroom was nice, very clean, warm and beautiful views. We were overlooking the resort and it was extremely noisy like people were clubbing in our room until 4am!!! Other nights were not quite so late before I dropped off! If you don't think you'll be able to bear it request a room overlooking the car park with your tour operator.

All the rooms stink of smoke and as an ex smoker I woke up feeling rougher than when I used to smoke 60 a day! By the way they are tight with toilet roll so nick as much as you can off the chambermaids trolley and hide it! Security is extremely heavy and threatening and some of our friends said they were "told off" for taking pictures in the bar and reception areas although some people took pictures and I didn't see the security getting shirty.

Don't try to haggle in the shops, we were told "This is not Turkey" - my reply? "Well in Turkey they didn't sell weapons on the street, have whores approach any man regardless of whether they're with their wives, or steal my husbands gloves or underpants, so we're all disappointed"! No sense of humour those Bulgarians in the main! My husband had his pants stolen from his locked locker in the hotel sports centre (god knows why when they could have gone for our room key or his jeans and trainers!) He had his ski gloves stolen from ski depot 1 but people were constantly having things pinched from under their noses - sunglasses being very popular and a watch also from a locked locker in the hotel sports centre!

Food was edible in the restaurant and I thought a really good selection for the evening, but I'm not at all fussy. We ate out most nights as it was exceptionally cheap and good food, I recommend The Blue, Winter House Snow Bear and the restaurant at the foot of the black slope by the chair lift nearest the Alpin Hotel. Mamacitas is a lovely place, a bit more pricey but excellent Mexican food, lovely service and an excellent house band. Don't be afraid to ask in restaurants to have your food served hot and they will oblige willingly.

I got stuck in a hotel lift on the last night and the alarm bell wasn't working, I was on the 8th floor and rescued by a lovely Dutch guy called Bart and his friend, apparently people quite often heard people calling for help in lifts that had broken down in the hotel.

The hotel has one hairdryer, ask at reception and it is given out for free. Channel 13 on the TV in the hotel shows free and graphic porn past midnight so beware of young eyes channel hopping in the night or getting too frisky after a hard day's skiing, your body may not be up to the strain!

The receptionist and manager of the sports centre have no concept of customer care and had the audacity to shout at me when they messed up my booking for a massage - they were horrible and reduced me to tears, reception didn't really care but my husband managed to get an appointment for me and a discount. The masseuse Dani is lovely though and shows that Bulgarians are actually lovely people afflicted with a scary accent!

For the price you cannot go wrong and overall I loved it and would gladly go back. If your ski instructor is Stojen (pronounced Stoyan) then send him kind regards, he can be a git but that's just his way, don't let him upset you just say oi no and explain how to get the best out of you - he's a pussycat and quite put upon by his boss so cut him some slack!!! I started the week never having skiied and was doing red runs by my third day, Stojen tried to get me on a black run on my last day but after mild concussion and what turned out to be a dislocated thumb I took the easy route and got in a swift hot chocolate and brandy! Don't be put off it's an experience - be aware, be assertive and remember some of us actually wish we were there!

gabby

Review

from UK, 09 January 2006, 23:08


Rating
4 4 4 4 Overall
3 3 3 Staff
3 3 3 Rooms
1 Food
5 5 5 5 5 Fun
Comment: As far as rooms in ski resorts go it is ok. The rooms are fairly basic but clean with hot running water and we were comfortable. The hotel bar and supermarket is a rip off they always round up the price and you never get any change. The food isn't good at the hotel, it is bettet to eat out. It is a fantastic resort however and i would definitely recommend anyone to stay there. Excellent holidays to be had!

blandford

Review

from england, 21 December 2005, 21:24


Rating
5 5 5 5 5 Overall
5 5 5 5 5 Staff
5 5 5 5 5 Rooms
5 5 5 5 5 Food
5 5 5 5 5 Fun
Comment: we dont agree with the bad report given about the rila hotel,we loved staying there and will be going every year.Food was fab and hotel staff very helpful and friendly.We recommend it to everyone.

Max and Lia

Review

from Wales, UK, 20 September 2005, 17:40


Rating
1 Overall
1 Staff
2 2 Rooms
2 2 Food
1 Fun
Comment: We stayed at the Rila Hotel from 3rd Jan to 10th Jan 2004. Firstly I have to say that the ski facilities and the ski school are excellent and I would recommend them to anyone. It was our first time skiing and we felt we were in good hands. The standard of english of the instructors is very high.
The slopes for beginners are limited and the nursery slopes get very crowded. We often queued for 30 minutes or more for a ski lift. This is even worse when the gondola to the top is closed (often). The gondola ride is worth it even if you don't take your skis up - the views are stunning. Expect to queue for the gondola too - 45 minutes plus in the morning when it opens.
The Rila hotel is at the other end of the scale. The 4 star rating is a joke - it equates to a 1 star (two at a push) in the UK or USA. It is centrally located in the resort and close to the slopes and the ski school - this is its only redeeming feature. The first thing we noticed when we entered the hotel for the first time is the smell - the whole hotel stinks of cigarettes, even the clean laundry. We had to wash all of our clothes on return to remove this odour. The rooms are more akin to cells, the equipment is basic and varied. We were in a studio, the fridge was so noisy we had to turn it off in order to sleep, there was a cooker but no pans, cutlery or crockery. The room window was broken and let in a sub zero breeze, at night it also allowed in the noise from the pubs and clubs across the road - this went on until 3 in the morning. In the morning the showers were hot but in the evening all the hot water had gone and cold showers were the order.
The restaurant served warm or cold food - never hot. If you order drinks from the staff - assuming you were lucky enough to attract the attention of one - then you would have to wait until after you finished your meal before they arrived. If you order bottled beers or soft drinks then they are never cold (they would only need to put them outside to keep them cold but prefer to use faulty fridges!). The food was reasonable but poor in comparison with local restaurants - we tended to eat out even though we had paid for half board, there were many others who did the same.
The swimming pool was cold and too deep to allow small children to swim unsupervised. If you wish to use it take a bag for your clothes as there are only about 20 lockers for the whole health facility.
Finally, beware of reception: To suggest that something is not as it should be or something has been overlooked is greeted with a torrent of abuse. We complained about this to the manageress who turned out to be worse - she was eventually escorted away by her own security! There is some sort of scam going on behind reception regarding security boxes. There is a 30 Lev charge for a box. If you don't ask for a receipt you will not be given one. At the end of your holiday you will find that the money paid has disappeared and you will be expected to pay again, you will also find out what the security (enforcers) are for.
There is nothing available in the hotel that cannot be found locally cheaper and better so eat and drink out, exchange money at reputable local exchanges - tour reps will help as care is needed (forged notes etc.) buy souveniers at the local shops.
We also took the skidoo safari. We went at night which was interesting but I think daytime would have been better. It was a brilliant hour and well worth the money. We also paid for the barbeque afterwards which rounded off the evening perfectly. It was such good value I started to feel embarassed about how much we got for the money.
Overall, the resort is not bad, the ski schools are good but there are too many people on the slopes. The Hotel Rila is only worthy of demolition.

Ann

Review

from Glasgow, 13 August 2005, 20:52


Rating
4 4 4 4 Overall
5 5 5 5 5 Staff
5 5 5 5 5 Rooms
2 2 Food
4 4 4 4 Fun
Comment: First ski trip abroad with my daughter and we had a fab time. The snow conditions were great. I found the Hotel Rila really close to everything, room great with good views of the slopes. Only think that lets this hotel down is the food. The breakfasts are great, but for dinner be prepared to eat out, everything floats in grease and although they say there is chicken in the dishes most of the time you only find bones. Food outwith the hotel is great, and you are really spoiled for choice. Going back this year again but taking the Rila Studios and intend to eat out. Other great thing about Borovets in March is all the Ski equipment goes on sale and really great bargains about.

Linda Burke

Review

from Glasgow, 31 March 2005, 20:52


Rating
5 5 5 5 5 Overall
5 5 5 5 5 Staff
4 4 4 4 Rooms
3 3 3 Food
5 5 5 5 5 Fun
Comment: This was the best holiday i have ever had as a begginer i was i ski school, with a fantastic instructor Ivan. The hotel was stunning all the staff was extreamly polite and courtious. The local beer is a must try as is the food the 'green dragon' was one of the best meals ive ever had by far at silly cheap prices, we drank out most nights in the buzz bar then on to a club (which i cant remember the name of..hic!) but i will retern back to that hotel for the stunning veiws, brilliant ski and cheap local beer.skis up..!! 5* hotel 5*holiday.

Linda Burke

Review

from Glasgow, 31 March 2005, 20:52


Comment: This was the best holiday i have ever had as a begginer i was i ski school, with a fantastic instructor Ivan. The hotel was stunning all the staff was extreamly polite and courtious. The local beer is a must try as is the food the 'green dragon' was one of the best meals ive ever had by far at silly cheap prices, we drank out most nights in the buzz bar then on to a club (which i cant remember the name of..hic!) but i will retern back to that hotel for the stunning veiws, brilliant ski and cheap local beer.skis up..!! 5* hotel 5*holiday.

spikeymacmorgan

Review

from Glasgow, 24 January 2005, 23:55


Comment: We didnt know what to expect having heard some bad reports, but were pleasantly surprised. staff were friendly. Food was not always piping hot, but that is how the Bulgarians eat it. They do provide a microwave in the restaurant. There is a ski store, swimming pool, relaxing reception bar & an irish bar

rhona

Review

from Scotland, 13 January 2005, 20:52


Rating
5 5 5 5 5 Overall
5 5 5 5 5 Staff
4 4 4 4 Rooms
5 5 5 5 5 Food
5 5 5 5 5 Fun
Comment: My 14 year old daughter, her friend and I have recently returned from an excellent skiing holiday in Borovets. We stayed at the Rila Hotel, where we had a studio, which was very warm, comfortably large and well-appointed. The food was excellent, with plenty of choice and lots of fresh fruit. The Rila is definitely the place to stay, right beside the ski slopes. The ski school was also very good, with english-speaking, helpful instructors. When we were there, the snow was adequate, but more was needed as some of the steeper runs were getting very icy and rocky. The snow was great at the top of the Gondola, but this is not always open due to the wind. Borovets is quite compact, with lots of small shops with proprietors who are delighted to see you, and lots of cafes and bars. The girls enjoyed shopping in the evenings (shops open till 10pm). The best place to eat lunch was The Den - great food, cheap prices and free aperitifs on arrival. Places up the mountain or adjacent to ski slopes were much more expensive. The people were very friendly and appreciated you being there. We also visited the Rila monastery - very interesting, worthwhile trip. We hope to return to Borovets next year. "Best holiday yet", as my daughter expressed.

pscott

Review

from England, 04 January 2005, 18:16


Rating
4 4 4 4 Overall
5 5 5 5 5 Staff
4 4 4 4 Rooms
4 4 4 4 Food
5 5 5 5 5 Fun
Comment: We stayed in Borovets from 19 to 26 December 2004. It snowed a little on the day we arrived and more heavily a couple of days later. There was enough snow for beginners on the nursery slopes (we were beginners). We stayed at the Hotel Rila (Inghams). No problem getting our skis and boots - well organised. Our instructor was just wonderful (George). The nursery slopes got quite packed on the first couple of days and the drag lift queues were terrible which meant walking up the nursery slope (very tiring). This was because of the lack of snow up the mountain, but it was still fun and a great atmosphere. The gondola to the top of the mountain was terrific.

The resort was perfect for us as beginners and instructors and the bulgarian bar owners were friendly. We would recommend this resort for any beginner. The food and drink was so cheap.

The Rila Hotel was very big, the room was basic but very clean and warm and the food was fine. The only downside to the Hotel was the music in the lobby - thumping club music all the time and the Rila nightclub music was the same. But the position was marvellous, right at the bottom of the nursery slope.

If you want a cheap resort to learn to ski, Borovets is the place. Plenty for a beginner through the day and lots of bars and places to eat in the evening. I would go back (as I will always be a beginner - I am so bad at skiing).

Katie

Review

from England, 27 December 2004, 07:15


Rating
5 5 5 5 5 Overall
5 5 5 5 5 Staff
5 5 5 5 5 Rooms
5 5 5 5 5 Food
5 5 5 5 5 Fun
Comment: I just come back from Bulgaria in which i stayed in the Rila hotel over christmas time -it was beautiful and there was so much to do- i loved it and i think we will go again next year-HOPEFULLY!! The hotel Rila is good for my age group (teenager) because you can never be bored and unoccupied with nothing else to do!! There are also so many amazing cheap shops and lush restaurants- my best restaurant was The Venice, the people are so nice, welcoming and the food is great. Our room was comfortable and the service was also good-the location was great! It was beautiul!

James Lennon

Review

from Northern Ireland, 24 February 2004, 20:52


Rating
5 5 5 5 5 Overall
5 5 5 5 5 Staff
5 5 5 5 5 Rooms
3 3 3 Food
5 5 5 5 5 Fun
Comment: I stayed at the hotel Rila, it was the best hotel I have ever been to and I have been to a lot of hotels. The food was not the best but every thing else was great , the shops and ski slopes were just outside the hotel Rila and there was also a lot of shops inside the hotel. The rooms were the best, they were lovely and tidy and homely. There was a bar inside the hotel Rila and the adults seemed to have a great laugh at it. The food and drinks were very very cheap. You can rent your skies right outside the hotel which is great. It is a large hotel but you can easily find your way about. The ski schools and ski instructors were kind and very helping.

Amy

Review

from Northern Ireland, 29 March 2003, 20:52


Comment: We stayed in the Hotel Rila which was fine, we actually only ate in the Hotel once, and to be honest the food looked great but we didn't really know what we were eating so we ate out the whole time.... the food was so cheap and the wine...yoo hoooo!! Fab!! Franco's Pizza was great and also I would highly recommend "The Green King" great food and Peppe was a brilliant host. For night life the only place to be is Mr Bean's, a 24 hr bar, and or course we had to find it....mighty spot! We went to the nightclub attached to the Hotel Rila about twice which was grand but we always ended up back at Mr Bean's again ....and the Black Tiger another great spot....Drink the local beer, cheap and tastes great and you can't leave Borovets without some CD's....3 quid, you couldn't got wrong.

Mic and LIz Harte

Review

from Scotland, 06 February 2003, 17:23


Rating
3 3 3 Overall
4 4 4 4 Staff
3 3 3 Rooms
2 2 Food
2 2 Fun
Comment: As this was our first Ski-ing holiday abroad we didn't really know what to expect especially in Bulgaria but were very pleasantly surprised.The resort, although small, was well laid out with everything near to hand and the people were very friendly.

We stayed at the Hotel Rila on a half board basis but found the food not to our tastes as it was served buffet style and although there was a good selection we found the hot selection to be lukewarm at best,but the fruit,bread and cakes were delicious.Outside the hotel are plenty of restaurants serving very good food, (Mamma-Mia's gets a special mention), at very good prices so you won't starve.The hotel itself was vey clean and the rooms very comfortable with T.V. radio and phone, although sometimes very warm.

We would advise any Scots going to take English money as,although you can change Scottish notes in some places at a reduced exchange rate,English notes are accepted almost anywhere.

Borovets is a beginners/intermediates paradise and has some very good nightlife in which to unwind after a hard days ski-ing and we will definitely be returning next year.

Brett Cohen

Review

from England, 19 March 2002, 20:52


Comment: The hotel was very nice, I did not have a complaint. Maids came round every day, they were friendly. The evening food was of wide selection, and quite nice. Breakfast was a little different. There was plenty of cold stuff, but hot food was resided to scrabled eggs most days. enough for me though. There is a swimming pool, gym, and steamers. It is quite a nice place and in the best position. I deffinately recommend. It also has a selection of Hoes downstairs, but don't worry if u r not interested they will not bother you, there was plenty who were.

Daniel

Review

from England, 26 February 2002, 20:52


Comment: We stayed in the Hotel Rila, in a studio rather than a bedroom and despite the complaints so many others before us had made, we found little to pick fault with, the food was unusual and generally of a Bulgarian style, but we never went hungry and you could always make yourself a meal from the huge buffet of salads, meats and vegetables and desserts. The studios were fantastic and had been recently refurbished with new cooking facilities, beds and cupboards. The hotel was always clean and the maids did a wonderful job in the rooms.